Monday, January 9, 2012

Post Secondary Education (Government)

Technical Colleges

Maktab Teknik Sultan Saiful Rijal was established in 1985 as a result of a merger between the Sekolah Bangunan Sultan Saiful Rijal (1970) and the Pusat Latehan Teknikal Brunei (1977). 

Maktab Kejuruteraan Jefri Bolkiah was established in 1969. The school received its first intake at the beginning of 1970. The school was then called the “Government Engineering Trade School”. On 1st April 1987, the school was ungraded to college.
Both colleges are a full-fledged premier technical institutions offering a wide range of courses in vocational and technical field.

Vocational Schools

Nakhoda Ragam Vocational School, Pusat Latihan Mekanik (Mechanical Training Centre), Sultan Bolkiah Vocational School, , Business School and Wasan Vocational School were established to provide a variety of craft courses to students completing PMB and showing potential and ability in craft and vocational skills.  The main objective of these schools is to produce a skilled labour force to meet the nation’s man-power needs in line with modern challenges and technologies.  Courses on offer include Electrical and Electronics, Clerical Studies, Furniture Making, Plumbing, Hairdressing, Carpentry, Bricklaying and Concreting, Painting and Decorating, Crops Production and Fish Husbandry.

Sixth form colleges

Students who have the necessary ‘O’ Level qualifications may proceed to do a two-year pre-university course leading to the Brunei-Cambridge Advanced Level Certificate of Education examination (GCE 'A' Level).

Pre-university education prepares students for entrance to universities and other higher education institutions in Brunei Darussalam and overseas.

Depending on their English Language ‘O’ Level grades, all pre-university students are required to take English Language at an appropriate level such as the *‘A/S’ Level General Paper, Thinking Skills, English A.S., English Language & Literature or ‘O’ Level English.

Students may choose a combination of three or more ‘A’ Level subjects according to approved subject combinations.

Note : A.S – Advanced Subsidiary

Science stream subject options 

Arts stream options

Mathematics, Physics, Chemistry, Biology.
Geography, Economics, Business Studies, Accounting and Art & Design may be taken as an additional fourth subject.

Mathematics, History, Economics, Accounting, English Literature, Geography, Bahasa Melayu, Arts & Design, Sociology, Business Studies, Usuluddin and Syariah).
SEAMEO VOCTECH Regional Centre
 The SEAMEO Regional Centre for Vocational and Technical Education and Training (VOCTECH) was established on 28 August 1990 by the Southeast Asian Ministers of Education Organisation (SEAMEO), a chartered international organisation whose purpose is to promote cooperation in education, science and culture in the Southeast Asian Region.

VOCTECH’s policy-making body is the Governing Board (GB), which is composed of a representative from each SEAMEO member country, such as Brunei Darussalam, Cambodia, Indonesia, Lao PDR, Malaysia, Myanmar, Philippines, Singapore, Thailand, Timor Leste and Vietnam.  The representatives are nominated by their respective Ministers of Education and appointed by the SEAMEO Council.  The SEAMEO Secretariat (SEAMES) Director and VOCTECH Director serve as ex-officio members of the Board.  The VOCTECH Governing Board is responsible for operational policies, strategic planning, and annual review and evaluation of the Centre’s programmes and budget within the framework of its approved Five-Year Development Plan.

The Centre’s mandate is to strengthen and improve the quality of Vocational and Technical Education and Training (VTET) in Southeast Asia through human resources development.  Guided by its Vision and Mission, SEAMEO VOCTECH has identified six goals to be carried out through various training programmes, research and development, information sharing, networking, organisational capacity, financial viability and management.

No comments:

Post a Comment